Plum Thyme Pie with Rye-Butter Crust

This must be dessert week…

Last weekend was a busy one for me, and it included lots of opportunities to bake. I made this pie for a bbq on Sunday, and it was fantastic!

Last summer I made these blueberry basil hand pies, and the unique herbal fruit flavor hooked me. This plum pie has a similarly exciting flavor palate. The thyme is subtle but wonderful, and the sweet filling perfectly complements the buttery rye crust.

I have never had plum pie, so this was pretty exciting. The all-butter crust is a little tricky to work with, but completely worth the effort. The filling couldn’t be any easier.

I followed this recipe for the crust, but substituted 1/2 cup of dark rye flour for all-purpose flour. It’s pretty dry in Utah, so I had to add extra ice water as well. This crust is truly amazing- flaky and buttery with just a hint of rye flavor.

I used this recipe for the filling, but reduced the sugar by half. You won’t miss it!

I hope that you like this pie as much as I did.

Do you have a favorite summer pie recipe?

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, fruit, Pie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Plum Thyme Pie with Rye-Butter Crust

  1. That sounds absolutely amazing! I love to add an unexpected herb to recipes and this is certainly one I am going to add to my book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

