Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp with Pecans

Strawberry rhubarb is just about the most stereotypical ‘springtime’ flavor.

For the longest time I thought that I didn’t like strawberries and rhubarb combined. Perhaps because I have never been much of a pie fan, the combination just didn’t interest me.

Then, a couple of years ago, I made a strawberry rhubarb crumble for my husband. Crisps and crumbles are my favorite, so I obviously had to try a bite. I quickly fell in love, and now I try to make some sort of strawberry rhubarb dessert every spring.

I made this for Easter this year, and I was very happy with the results. However, I didn’t want to eat crisp all week, so I only assembled and baked two servings. The rest is stored conveniently in the freezer for another day…perhaps after my next long run!

Ingredients

1 lb rhubarb, chopped

1 lb strawberries, halved

1/4 cup maple syrup, or to taste

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 batch of your favorite crisp topping (I added pecans and vanilla to mine)

whipped cream or vanilla ice cream for serving

Instructions

1. Combine strawberries, rhubarb, and maple syrup in a large pot over medium low heat. Cook for 30 minutes until soft, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract.

2. Pour fruit into a casserole dish or individual ramekins and top with crisp topping.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes, until topping is browned and fruit is bubbly.

4. Cool slightly before serving, and top with ice cream or whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Cobblers, easy, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp with Pecans

  1. Any sort of fruit crumble is my favourite dessert ever! Do you know what the difference is between a crumble and a crisp? It is an ongoing debate between me and my bf haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

