Irish Coffee Pots de Creme

Do you need a last-minute dessert idea for St. Patrick’s Day? In my opinion, it doesn’t get much better (or simpler) than a classic Irish Coffee, but if you want something a little more impressive, these easy pots de creme are a great choice. Pots de creme are a wonderful dessert. They are rich, smooth, creamy, and full of flavor. They are also conveniently portioned in small ramekins. When it comes to creamy desserts, portion control is key…there’s no need to undo all of your healthy aspirations! If you don’t like whiskey, feel free to omit it from this recipe, or to substitute rum, brandy, Irish cream, or anything else you like.

Ingredients

1.5 cups heavy cream 4 egg yolks 3 tablespoons instant espresso powder 1/3 cup sugar 1/4 to 1/3 cup Irish whiskey

Instructions

1. Heat the cream until hot to the touch, then stir in the sugar and instant coffee. 2. Place the egg yolks in a large bowl. Whisking vigorously, slowly pour the cream into the yolks and mix thoroughly. It’s important to whisk during this step so that you don’t cook the yolks! Stir in the whiskey. 3. Pour the mixture into 4 small baking ramekins. Place the ramekins in a large casserole dish and pour hot water into the casserole dish, half way up the sides of the ramekins. The water helps the pots de creme cook evenly. Cover the dish with aluminum foil and place in the oven. 4. Bake at 325 degrees for 35 minutes, or until the custards don’t jiggle in the middle. Remove from the oven and carefully remove the ramekins from the dish. Cool in the refrigerator for at least two hours before serving. Makes 4 pots de creme.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Irish Coffee Pots de Creme

  1. Wow this looks so good, I love whiskey and coffee! I am definitely going to make this for my bf when he comes down under in September (yes I am already planning stuff like this cos I am kinda excited haha) 🙂 I don’t really know much about reblogging, I can just see the button above, but can I reblog this?

    Like

    • Thanks!

      I completely understand planning out your visit so far in advance. I’ve done long distance far too often, and it’s always planning the visits that gets me through!

      I think you just click the ‘reblog’ button. I’ve never done it, but feel free!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. emilyinutah says:

    I agree–this looks sooo good! Will definitely try this. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

